Happy Cancer Girl

A Happy Girls Journey with Cancer

Rent-a-Kid

on January 29, 2013

Although I have a lot of stuff going on in my life I am very lucky for many reasons. One of those reasons is because of my honorary kids. Each and every one bring a lot of joy into my life. They aren’t reading my blog because they are all to young, however I want to take this opportunity to thank them for being one of life’s many gifts.

Morgan – I cherish you like I do my own nieces’, you are growing up before my eyes which makes me happy and sad all at the same time. Your mentioning going to high school in a couple years just blows me away. I hope that you continue to visit and know that I am always here to listen to you and give advice. You are growing into a beautiful young woman and I am so very grateful to have you as one of my honorary kids!

Nick – I wish I was able to see you more often, but love that we have been able to go camping together the past couple of summers. You are so smart and so very sweet and I am glad I am able to watch you grow into such a loving person. I love that you were able to come and spend time with me last summer and hope that you will want to continue to do that!

Zach – I love having you come stay when your sister has cheerleading! I was really looking forward to keeping you for the weekend, but understand that it’s hard to leave mom and dad. Know that you are always welcome in my home and I LOVE that I can count on you to go to the movies with me when I need a cartoon fix!

Karston – My dear sweet Karston I love that you call me Antie. I cherish our time together and am amazed at how long you can stay at my house before you are ready to go home to your mom. I feel like you know how important it was for me to see many of your milestone’s while growing so you seemed to hold out until I was around. I love how you care about everyone and seem to have an old soul. Your week long visits have meant so much too me and I hope that you will continue to come for years to come!

Alice – You are growing up way to fast! You are so incredibly smart and you can carry a conversation like someone many years older then you. I love that you like to paint your nails and play with your hair but at the same time you are not afraid to get down and dirty in the garden. I don’t get to see you often enough either, but hope that you will continue to come and visit with me in the summers!

Marlee – What can I say Mars Bar, you haven’t been around as long as the other’s…being two and all. BUT in the two years you have been around you have made a huge impact on my life. I was so shocked to see that you didn’t really like me, when most kids love being with me. I’m glad that this has finally passed and you like Antie, Georgia and Owen! I look forward to watching you grow and can’t wait for the day that you too are ready to come and spend time all alone at Antie’s house.

These kids are so important to me and although only 4 of them are actually family I will always feel like the other 2 are also. I call them my rent-a-kids because I can always call their parents and ask to spend time with them.

I was trying to think of a good song to post at the bottom, but actually found this trailer for a movie called Rent A Kid from 1995. I think I will try to find a copy to watch with the kids some day!!


10 responses to “Rent-a-Kid

  1. Kelly says:

    You can have my kids anytime you want!!!! LOL

  2. Rachel says:

    I’m going to read Karston’s shout out to him. I know how much it will mean to him. I had happy tears reading this blog. You mean the world to my kids, as much as they do you!

  3. sherry kirkpatrick morton says:

    I love your blog I never know what you are going to tell us next. i remember when you use to come and stay me and just how much fun it was. I know your cousins loved having you come to play with.As the saying goes what goes around comes around thank you for being my niece.

  4. Elaine says:

    Morgan and Zach will always be there when you need them. Zach doesn’t know what he is missing. We may still be able to do that movie as long as you don’t mind me tagging along…LOL

Leave a comment